3 months

January 24, 2011 at 12:17 am 4 comments

My step father has cancer and through some bad luck and hard decisions he has been given three months to live. This post has been in the making for the past couple of weeks as I processed the news and figured out if I thought it is appropriate. I struggle sometimes about how much of personal life I want to share. It is a fine line for me and I don’t want to hurt peoples feelings. Well this post is being written for me. Maybe a little selfish. But maybe a healing process too. I know if my step dad had a couple of good days as his old self he would be playing racquetball, golfing and heading to Moab. Those are the things that he lived and made him happy. With this news and thoughts of mortality on my minds, I have been thinking of my own bucket list. I made a list when I was younger. But somethings have changed and been crossed off. Some of the things that I have done are fall in love, get married and learn play guitar. But here is a list of things that I still want to do.
1. Swim with dolphins.
2. Have my mom watch me graduate.
3. Travel more any where. Mostly Jamaica, Italy, and Hawaii.
4. Run a half marathon and a marathon.
5. Spend time with those I love.
I have some plans to get these things crossed off my list sooner rather then later. So stay tuned because I promise more entertaining and exciting blogs… Until then remember to appreciate everything and everyone in you life because it is shorter then we know.

Entry filed under: About me, Goals, Running.

Easy Cheesy Grits with Corn Spring 2011 semester

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeff  |  January 24, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Those are all great things. I can help you with #4.

    Reply
    • 2. discoveringdebbie  |  January 24, 2011 at 10:14 pm

      I am looking for more books to read. I read born to run. Any other suggestions?

      Reply
  • 3. Teresa @ Teresa Tastes & Travels  |  January 24, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Oh, I am sorry to hear about your stepfather. I pray for his comfort and for those who love him.

    It is hard to know what to share and when, isn’t it? We lost a very close friend (one who save my husband’s life in the spring of 2007) to suicide last summer. It was so sudden and so unexpected. It’s been terrible to live through this and like you, I struggled with what to share. I’ve decided not to share much (out of respect for his grieving widow and children, especially). But in not sharing, I’ve been carrying so much around with me. It’s hard.

    I commend you for focusing on what you want for your life and being so candid with it. I wish you well. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. discoveringdebbie  |  January 24, 2011 at 10:16 pm

      It is hard. I do feel a lot better in sharing. I guess that was my writers block. Thank you for the support.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest

Categories


